LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the Senate Meeting April 22, 2009

Present: M. Abreu, A. Colon (for H. Ali), C. Baldonedo, N. Berke, P. Nicolov (for R. Butler), J. Cantwell, L. Capuano-Vella, J. Wynn (for T. Coogan), G. Walters (for K. Cottrell), F. Egger-Sider, M. Glick, U. Hidle, A. Iqbal, R. Kahn, P.Mejia (for S. Khan), W. Kurzyna, C. Lee, T. Litvay-Sardou, G. McCormack, L. McShane, S. Mettler, E. Murray, A. Pappas, G. Richmond, S. Lyddon (for E. Rivas), E. Santiago, P. Sokolski, C. Sterling-Deer (until 4:15pm) & L. Forrester (after 4:15pm), L. Teplin, A. Tucker, S. Yee

Ex-officio: VP R. Elliott, VP P. Jordan, VP H. Saltiel, VP J. Schulman, VP R. Segree **Absent:** M. Alvarado, N. Lewis, R. Padhiar, H. Rashid, I. Shakir **Excused:** J. Karlen **Guests:** L. Beaky, S. Erfan, S. Hanson

Nota Bene: For each action summarized in these minutes, the set consisting of those senators who participated in the action forms a subset of those listed as "Present". The specific vote of each senator that participated in an action is contained in the summaries. Unless otherwise noted, the Chairperson abstains from all votes.

Chairperson Teplin called the meeting to order at 2:39 p.m. in room E 500.

I. Approval of Minutes for April 1, 2009

By general consent, the Senate approved the draft version of the minutes of the Senate meeting held on April 1, 2009 with corrections. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action except for Senators Glick, Iqbal, Lee, McCormack, Mettler, Santiago, Sokolski, Yee & Alternate Senators Walters & Wynn, all of whom had not yet arrived.

II. Report from the Chairperson

Chairperson Teplin welcomed Anthony Colon, a new Alternate Student Senator selected by Student Government. The Executive Committee discussed the issue that came up at the last meeting regarding the way senators are listed as voting. It was recommended that we would begin listing senators who were late or stepped out as such and not just listing they did not participate in that vote. By General consent, it was agreed that we should begin doing that from this point forward. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action except for Senators Glick, Iqbal, Lee, McCormack, Mettler, Santiago, Sokolski, Yee & Alternate Senator Walters, all of whom had not yet arrived.

III. Curriculum Committee Report

There was a single curriculum item presented, which had been placed on the Senate consent calendar as it was sent out prior to the meeting. Listed below is the item along with corresponding Senate action. Whenever the phrase "with corrections" appears, it refers to minor adjustments in the written presentation of the proposal. It does not refer to substantive changes in the proposal.

It was moved and seconded to adopt the item on the Senate consent calendar as presented. This included: Revisions to New Media Technology Program & Media Studies Option. The motion passed unanimously with 24 votes in favor. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action except for Senators Glick, Iqbal, Lee, McCormack, Yee & Alternate Senator Walters, all of whom had not yet arrived.

IV. Academic Standing Committee Report

Dr. Sandra Hanson, on behalf of the Academic Standing Committee, presented a resolution on Non-Matriculated Students. After a long discussion it was moved and seconded to approve the resolution as presented. Senator Capuano-Vela stated that although she was voting in favor of the entire resolution, the second bullet which reads: "Effective Fall I 2009, all non-matriculated students, both new and continuing, will be able to register for classes no earlier than three business days prior to the first day of classes." Is a disadvantage to our students and the College in general. The motion failed with 18 votes in favor, 5 against and 6 abstentions. Senators Kahn, Litvay-Sardou, Pappas, & Alternate Senators Lyddon & Nicolov voted against the motion. Senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action except for Senator Iqbal who had not yet arrived.

V. UFS Resolution Concerning PSC-CUNY Research Award Program

Lenore Beaky a resolution regarding the PSC-CUNY Research Award Program. After a brief discussion it was moved and seconded to endorse the resolution as presented. During the discussion, Alternate Senator Forrester joined the meeting, replacing Senator Sterling-Deer as the representative of ELA. The motion passed unanimously with 28 votes in favor. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action except for Senators Capuano-Vela & Hidle who had left the meeting prior to the discussion.

VI. Discussion of Problems With The Start of The Spring Semester

Vice Presidents Elliott, Jordan, Saltiel, Schulman, and Segree introduced themselves and spoke about what is being worked on to ensure that the problems that happened in the beginning of the semester would not happen again. They shared many of the initiatives regarding space and technology that will help improve the operation of the college in the future. As a panel, they answered questions from the floor and distributed informational handouts

The meeting adjourned at 4:53 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Anthony Pappas Secretary College Senate

Nota Bene: The Senate approved this final version of these minutes during its meeting of May 13, 2009.